Effect on our services & advice for residents Coronavirus update

Our Board

Our Board is currently comprised of 10 non-Executive Board members, including one Hastoe resident.

Members of the Board have ultimate accountability for how Hastoe is run, including setting overall strategy, approving financial plans, and monitoring strategic and operational performance.

They delegate some of their responsibilities to two committees, each of which is composed of a smaller number of Board members. These are the Audit and Risk Committee and the Remuneration and Nomination Committee. The Board delegates responsibility for Hastoe’s day-to-day management to the Chief Executive and their Executive Team.

Non-Executive Board members are remunerated for their services to Hastoe and further details can be found in our published financial statements.

  • Ed Buscall March 2017

    Ed Buscall (Chairman)

    Ed is an arable farmer based in Norfolk. He is a parish councillor and has been involved in a number of schemes to regenerate the local area. Before becoming a farmer, Ed worked for the BBC World Service as Head of Current Affairs. He now works for the BBC Trust as an editorial adviser.

    Committee ex-officio: Audit and Risk, Remuneration and Nomination

  • Martin Huckerby March 2017

    Martin Huckerby

    Martin has recently retired after 25 years as Finance Director of a major housing association to have time to spend on other activities. Martin is committed to the sector and its objectives and remains active as a consultant/ Interim Finance Director as well as undertaking Non Exec roles.

    Committee membership: Chair of Audit and Risk

  • Lisa Hughes March 2017

    Lisa Hughes

    Lisa is the Chief Operation Officer of River Learning Trust, a multi-academy Trust based in Oxfordshire. Prior to this she was an independent consultant working in the not for profit sector, specialising in change and transformation, governance and strategy. Lisa has worked at Executive and Non-Executive levels in the not for profit sector for 19 years, 17 of which have been in housing. She is a qualified accountant with 20 years post qualification experience. Lisa lives in the wilds of Oxfordshire which is where she grew up, and is particularly interested in the issues and challenges of rural communities.

    Committee membership: Audit and Risk

  • Andy Moore March 2017

    Andy Moore

    Andy worked for over 35 years in Housing including roles as Chief Executive of Penwith Housing Association, Development Director at East Midlands Housing (EMH) and Deputy Chief Executive of the Rural Housing Trust. He is Chairman of his local Parish Council and village hall in Cornwall as well as his running club and local Athletics Network.

    Board Champion: Health and Safety

  • Chris Parsons

    Chris Parsons FCIOB

    Chris recently retired from running a Chartered Architects and Chartered Building Consultancy which specialised in sustainable and low energy building design. The practice was also active as a planning consultancy and had long experience of working in the social housing sector. Chris has run his own property development company and brings expertise to the Board from across all strands of the construction industry. He is a fellow of the Chartered Institute of Building.

  • Julie Pearce Martin

    Julie Pearce-Martin

    Julie became a Hastoe resident in 2018. She has had a varied career in journalism, the NHS and education sector. She is particularly interested in the provision of rural housing for local people.

  • Anne Perkins August 2019

    Anne Perkins

    Anne has been a political journalist and comment writer on radio, television and for The Guardian for 40 years. She has also written biographies of two politicians, Barbara Castle and Stanley Baldwin, as well as an account of the 1926 General Strike. Despite a London-based career, she grew up in rural Northamptonshire and now lives in Southwest Wiltshire where she chaired the successful re-opening of her village shop as a not-for-profit community venture.

    Committee membership: Renumeration and Nomination

  • Richard Quallington March 2017

    Richard Quallington BSc (Deputy Chairman)

    Currently Chief Executive of ACRE. He was former vice chair of ACRE and past chair of Regional Action West Midlands (RAWM). A planner by training, Richard has many years experience of working with and lobbying on behalf of rural communities about affordable housing, transport, rural services, rural broadband and regeneration initiatives.

    Committee membership: Chairman of Remuneration and Nomination

  • Robert Rutledge March 2017

    Robert Rutledge LIB MBA

    Robert has extensive experience in financial services gained from a 42 year career with Allied Irish Bank Plc, most recently as Chief Credit Officer for the Bank's UK Division. Robert is also a member of the Institute of Bankers in Ireland.

    Committee membership: Audit and Risk
    Board Champion: Tenant Empowerment

  • Andrew Wiseman March 2017

    Andrew Wiseman LLB (Hons) OBE

    Andrew is a solicitor who specialised in environmental and planning law, prior to becoming General Counsel & Corporate Secretary at a public body where he heads the legal, governance and operational risk teams. He has considerable experience advising housing associations, developers and local authorities. He has been appointed by the Minister of State to chair the Advisory Council of UK Export Finance (ECGD) and previously chaired DEFRA's Contaminated Land National Expert Panel.

    Committee membership: Audit and Risk

Google translate Google translate
click to choose
Browsealoud Browsealoud
Colour contrast Contrast
Font size Text size